800 W. Airport Freeway, Suite 1127, Irving, TX 75062


call us469-845-3031

The Most Important Things to Know About Family Violence in Texas

 Posted on March 26, 2024 in Criminal Law

Tarrant County, TX domestic violence defense lawyerWhen it comes to family violence, understanding the legal implications and consequences of being convicted is important if you are facing charges. In Texas, family violence is prosecuted very aggressively. If you have been charged with family violence, it is strongly recommended that you seek legal advice from an experienced attorney. While hiring an attorney does not guarantee a specific case outcome, it certainly gives those facing charges a fair chance at beating the charges or getting them reduced. 

With over 25 years of experience, Attorney Poblenz at Law Office of Michelle Poblenz has a proven track record of defending clients against the most serious criminal charges. No matter how grim a client’s situation may look, Attorney Poblenz is renowned for providing aggressive and tactical legal guidance that gives clients the best chance at obtaining a favorable case outcome.

What is the Definition of Family Violence in Texas?

In Texas, family violence is defined as an act by a member of a family or household against another family member that is intended to cause physical harm, bodily injury, assault, or a threat that places the victim in fear of imminent harm. This definition extends to relationships such as spouses, former spouses, dating partners, parents and children, and others living in the same household. Understanding the broad scope of what is meant by family violence is essential for those facing charges related to the offense.

Penalties for Family Violence in Texas

Family violence is prosecuted anywhere from a Class C misdemeanor to a 1st-degree felony. Here is a brief guide explaining the potential penalties for family violence in Texas:

  • Class C misdemeanor – The least severe charge of family violence; this involves threats but no actual injuries or violence. Individuals may face a fine of up to $500 if convicted of this Class C misdemeanor.

  • Class A misdemeanor – Family violence reaches a Class A misdemeanor if the alleged family violence caused injuries or pain or left marks on the targeted person’s body. Penalties for this offense include a year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000.

  • 3rd-degree felony – This involves a person attempting to choke or strangle a family member when committing domestic assault. Furthermore, suppose a person already has been convicted of family violence in the past, and they commit it again. In that case, they will likely be facing enhanced penalties, such as the possibility of two to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

  • 2nd-degree felony – This involves a person inflicting serious bodily harm on a family member, which may also constitute aggravated assault. Those convicted of this 2nd-degree felony will face between two and 20 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.

  • 1st-degree felony – If a deadly weapon is used against a family member, the convicted individual can face between five and 99 years in prison, not to mention a $10,000 fine. 

Contact Our Tarrant County, TX Family Violence Defense Attorney

Do not face family violence charges alone. Qualified attorneys are ready and waiting to help you. Contact our skilled Dallas, TX family violence lawyer with Law Office of Michelle Poblenz. Call 469-845-3031 for a private consultation. 

Share this post:
badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top