800 W. Airport Freeway, Suite 1127, Irving, TX 75062


call us469-845-3031

Denton County Traffic Violations Attorney

Traffic Ticket Attorney Near You

Traffic violations are an issue that occurs regularly in Denton County, Texas. Many of these traffic violations are aggressively enforced due to the risks they pose to public safety. As a result, it is essential to understand the associated penalties that can apply for drivers who are accused of committing violations.

A common misconception among motorists is that traffic violations are not worth taking seriously. With a society so saturated with violent crime, it is not entirely surprising that people do not consider traffic violations among the more serious offenses. However, this is a dangerous line of thinking. Traffic violations can be serious, particularly since many of these violations, such as speeding, leaving the scene of an accident, or running a red light, can put people in danger. Such offenses not only put the alleged offender in danger of serious bodily injury, but these violations can affect the people and motorists around them as well. If you have received a ticket for a traffic violation, regardless of how serious the violation may seem, legal assistance is available to assist you in your time of need.

At the Law Office of Michelle Poblenz, our deep knowledge of traffic law, combined with our dedication to serving others and their best interests, makes us exceptionally qualified to handle your traffic violation case. We are prepared to work with you every step of the way and build a robust defense, with the ultimate goal of securing you an acquittal in your case.

Denton County Traffic Violations

Denton County is Texas's seventh most populous county, and it often experiences congested highways and busy roads, which can easily take drivers' attention away from the rules of the road. As a result, traffic violations in Denton County can be common, leading law enforcement authorities to take steps to enforce public safety. This has resulted in frequent traffic stops and tickets being issued to drivers to deter them from committing violations that could endanger the public.


Speeding is one of the most common traffic violations in Denton County. On Highway I-635 in the county, the speed limit ranges from 65-70 mph. Depending on how fast a motorist travels over the speed limit, a first-time offender who receives a speeding ticket could pay anywhere from $166 to $400+. in fines. However, if an individual causes an accident while driving over the speed limit, the penalties can become far more severe, escalating the charge to include fines of up to $2,000, as well as criminal charges that could lead to imprisonment, depending on the circumstances. In cases where you are facing a speeding ticket, especially if you were allegedly traveling at a high speed, it can be crucial to hire a traffic violations attorney. Without a legal advocate on your side, you could face highly adverse consequences that may affect you both in the short term and the long run.

Driving Without a License

Driving without a driver's license or driving with an expired license is another common traffic violation in Denton County. If you are charged with this offense, you may face a number of adverse consequences. The potential penalties can include a mandatory impoundment of your vehicle, being charged with a misdemeanor offense with possible jail time, a $200 fine for a first offense, a fine of $500 for a second offense, a blemish on your driving record, or a permanent criminal record if you are a repeat offender.

Causing an accident while driving without a license can result in life-changing penalties. This offense is a class A misdemeanor, and if you are convicted, you may be required to spend up to a year in jail and pay a fine of $4,000. Additionally, you may face civil liability while driving without a license and causing an accident, and you could be held financially liable for injuries and losses related to the accident.

Driving with a Suspended License

If you are pulled over for driving with a license that has been suspended or revoked, you could be looking at even steeper penalties. The Texas Transportation Code refers to this offense as "Driving While License Invalid." This is considered a class C misdemeanor that can result in a suspension of your driver's license, and fines up to $500. If you commit this offense a second time, you can face even harsher penalties, including a sixth-month jail sentence and a $2,000 fine.

Passing a School Bus That Has Warning Lights On

When school buses stop to pick up or drop off children, warning lights will flash, and a stop sign may be extended. Drivers are prohibited from passing school buses in these situations. This law is meant to protect children and ensure that they can enter and exit buses safely. A driver who passes a school bus when its warning lights are on may face fines up to $1,250. In addition, a second or third offense can lead to your license being suspended and possible jail time.

As per the Texas Department of Transportation, distracted driving due to cellphone usage has become a leading cause of such offenses in recent years. As a result, law enforcement has cracked down on drivers who pass school buses illegally, enforcing the law aggressively. While it is always essential for drivers to practice safe driving while on the road, it is especially important to drive safely when sharing the road with school buses. These buses may stop frequently, which can agitate impatient drivers. However, it is essential never to pass a school bus with its hazard lights on, as doing so will result in hefty fines or other penalties.

Distracted Driving

Distracted driving is a dangerous behavior that has become increasingly common in recent years, particularly due to the widespread use of technology such as smartphones and other mobile devices. While a variety of distractions can take a driver's attention away from the road, texting and driving is one of the most common and dangerous forms of distracted driving. When drivers are texting or using their phones, their eyes and cognitive attention are diverted from the road, and they will take at least one hand off the wheel, significantly increasing the risk of a car crash. Studies have shown that texting and driving and other distracted driving behaviors can be as dangerous as drunk driving. Drivers greatly increase the risk of serious injury for themselves and others when engaging in such behaviors.

In addition to the risk of serious injury, death, or property damage that comes with texting and driving, these activities can also lead to detrimental legal consequences. In Texas, distracted driving is considered a misdemeanor traffic violation, meaning that a conviction of such a violation could result in a criminal record. If you are pulled over for texting while driving, you may be fined anywhere from $25 to $99. If you are a repeat offender, you may be charged up to $200. If your texting and driving results in another person's death or serious injury, you may be fined up to $4,000 and sentenced to a year in jail unless. If you are charged with negligent homicide or vehicular manslaughter, you will likely face heftier fines and longer jail sentences.

Leaving the Scene of an Accident

This is a very serious traffic violation in Texas, as it is in virtually all 50 states. The offense occurs when a driver is involved in an accident that causes property damage or injury to another person and then leaves the scene before exchanging information or supplying aid to the injured person. If a driver is convicted of leaving the scene of an accident, they may face significant legal consequences. Under Texas law, if a driver leaves the scene of an accident after causing less than $200 in damage, this is considered a Class C misdemeanor. The charge is escalated to a Class B misdemeanor if the damage is $200 or more.

If you leave the scene of an accident in which someone has been injured, but their injuries do not result in serious injuries or death, you may still face serious penalties for leaving the scene, such as a year in county jail and fines up to $5,000. The penalties become far more severe if the accident caused a serious injury or resulted in someone's death. If you are involved in an accident where someone has likely been injured, you must stop your vehicle at the scene or as close to the scene as possible. You will then need to determine whether anyone involved is in need of medical attention. Regardless of whether someone needs medical attention, you must stay at the accident scene until first responders and law enforcement arrive. Failing to adhere to these rules may result in a third-degree felony charge. If the accident results in death, the charge becomes a second-degree felony.

Contact a Denton County Traffic Violations Attorney

Make no mistake: traffic violations often result in serious penalties. As a result, if you have been charged with a traffic violation, whether you believe that it is big or small, do not hesitate to contact a traffic violation defense lawyer to make sure you understand your rights and options. At the Law Office of Michelle Poblenz, we know that traffic violations are among the offenses that can easily make a good person look bad. If you have received a traffic ticket, or if you have been charged with a criminal offense related to a traffic violation, contact us at 469-845-3031 to set up a private consultation today. We will help you understand the violation and your legal options moving forward.

badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top